De

“Now I understand what the Hanse is”

October 2015Photo: Europäisches Hansemuseum / Thomas Radbruch

The European Hanse Museum, the largest museum on the Hanseatic League’s rich history, opened in Lübeck “The Hanse has been a major factor in contributing to European history and added to its sense of identity. The roots on which our European cooperation is based today can be traced back to it”, German Chancellor Angela Merkel said at the inauguration of the European Hanse Museum in Lübeck in May 2015.

When Low German merchants from Soest, Münster, Groningen and Lübeck moored on the banks of the Neva river in 1193, they had no idea that they were among the founders of a powerful association, which came to be known as “Dudesche Hense” from the 14th century on. What was initially a loose alliance of merchants preparing for trade talks in the city of Novgorod evolved into the most influential economic and municipal network in Northern Europe over the following centuries. “The Hanseatic League was Europe’s first large, successful economic association. It existed longer than half a millennium. Not long ago we celebrated the 50th anniversary of the Treaties of Rome, therefore the European Union still has a long way to go”, Angela Merkel said on the opening day.

The Hanse’s multifaceted history has now been on display in its own museum in Lübeck since the end of May: The European Hanse Museum illustrates the development from a group of merchants at its beginnings to becoming a major northern European power spanning a network of more than 200 affiliated towns and cities. The exhibition examines daring and advancement, a world of wealth and power, failure and struggle as well as mortal dangers and the all-pervasive influence of religion. Visitors are given the opportunity of discovering key events in the history of the Hanse in reconstructed scenes to comprehend just how that meeting at the Neva river could have taken place, while walking past two faithfully recreated cogs.

All the reconstructed scenes are based on the latest state of research and no expense has been spared to make them as historically accurate as possible”, said Dr Lisa Kosok, Managing Director of the Hanse Museum. As they walk through the exhibition, visitors can also see how things may have looked in the kontors, the Hanse’s overseas trading posts: They can wander around a bustling market hall in Bruges, gaze at the splendour of the Steelyard in London and examine an important trading centre for stockfish in Bergen. Lübeck, known as the “Head of the Hanse”, is used to portray the impact of the Black Death in the 14th century or as the stage a Hanse convention with representatives of the Hanseatic cities. The creations of myths and legends introduced after the decline of the Hanse are discussed as well. “600 years of economic history are presented such that the visitors can say ‘Now I understand what the Hanse is!’” said Björn Engholm, former prime minister of Schleswig Holstein and today a member of the museum’s advisory board.

Some specific characteristics of Europe go back to the classical Hanse merchants. Thus, you can see that much of what we expect today from economic life was already practiced at the time of the Hanse”, Engholm emphasized. Björn Engholm summarised the task of the new museum: “The merchants formed something like a European economic community. I think, they were very advanced, compared to today. Actually they are the nucleus of a Europe, such as the one we are hoping for today. To provide positive contributions to this fantastic idea of Europe, will be an important aspect of the European Hanse Museum”. Angela Merkel wants to take up the central idea of the Hanse that “together we are stronger and achieve more for everyone than if each were to act for himself. Therefore, there is also today the endeavour to work for unity in the European Union – time and again and on all current issues”.

Share: TwitterLinkedIn

More posts
Handing a company over to the next generation is not always easy. When is the right time? What qualifications should the successor(s) have? What role does the senior play? Many ...
In the last ten years the entrepreneur Stefan Moritz has not written a written contract as agreements are made by handshake. Trust counts for him and his customers - this is lon...
While many industrial companies now prefer to use inexpensive materials and produce mass products, a young company from East Westphalia is doing exactly the opposite. Allstein, ...

En

„Jetzt verstehe ich, was Hanse ist“

Oktober 2015Foto: Europäisches Hansemuseum / Thomas Radbruch

Mit dem Europäischen Hansemuseum gibt in Lübeck das größte Museum über die Geschichte der Hanse.. „Die Hanse hat europäische Geschichte maßgeblich mitgeschrieben. Sie wirkte identitätsstiftend. Auf sie sind Wurzeln zurückzuführen, auf denen unser europäisches Miteinander auch heute noch beruht“, sagte Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel anlässlich der Eröffnung des Europäischen Hansemuseums in Lübeck, das im Mai 2015 nach dreijähriger Bauzeit eröffnet wurde.

Als niederdeutsche Kaufleute aus Soest, Münster, Groningen und Lübeck 1193 am Ufer des Flusses Newa landeten, ahnten sie noch nicht, dass sie eine mächtige Vereinigung mitbegründeten, die ab dem 14. Jahrhundert als „Dudesche Hense“ bekannt wurde. Was zunächst ein loser Verbund von Fernkaufleuten für anstehende Handelsgespräche in Nowgorod war, sollte sich in den nächsten Jahrhunderten zum einflussreichsten Wirtschaftsund Städteverbund Nordeuropas entwickeln. „Die Hanse war der erste große, erfolgreiche Wirtschaftsverbund Europas. Er hatte länger als ein halbes Jahrtausend Bestand. Wir haben vor gar nicht langer Zeit 50 Jahre Römische Verträge gefeiert, die Europäische Union muss sich also noch anstrengen“, sagte Angela Merkel am Eröffnungstag.

Das Europäische Hansemuseum zeigt die Entwicklung des Kaufmannsbundes von seinen Anfängen hin zu einer nordeuropäischen Großmacht mit einem Netz von mehr als 200 Partnerstädten. Die Besucher erfahren von Wagnis und Aufstieg, von einer Welt des Reichtums und der Macht, von Misserfolg und Kampf sowie von Todesgefahren und dem alles bestimmenden Glauben. Sie können besondere Schlüsselereignisse der Hansegeschichte in rekonstruierten Szenen erkunden und nachvollziehen, wie sich eben jenes Zusammentreffen an der Newa abgespielt haben könnte, während sie an zwei originalgetreu nachgebauten Koggen vorbeigehen.

„Alle rekonstruierten Szenen basieren auf dem gegenwärtigen Forschungsstand und wurden mit großem Aufwand historisch so getreu wie möglich nachgebildet“, sagt Direktorin Dr. Lisa Kosok. So erfahren die Besucher auch, wie es sich in den Kontoren zugetragen haben könnte: Sie betreten eine belebte Verkaufshalle in Brügge, den prunkvollen „Stalhof“ in London und einen wichtigen Umschlagplatz für Stockfisch in Bergen. Am Beispiel Lübecks, dem damaligen „Haupt der Hanse“, werden die Auswirkungen der Pest im 14. Jahrhundert dargestellt oder ein Hansetag mit Vertretern der Hansestädte in Szene gesetzt. Auch die nach dem Niedergang der Hanse einsetzenden Mythen- und Legendenbildungen werden thematisiert. „600 Jahre Wirtschaftsgeschichte werden so präsentiert, dass die Besucher sagen können ‚Jetzt verstehe ich, was Hanse ist!‘“, erklärt Björn Engholm, ehemaliger schleswig-holsteinischer Ministerpräsident und heute Mitglied im Beirat des Museums.

„Manche Spezifika Europas gehen auf die klassischen Hansekaufleute zurück. So kann man sehen, dass vieles, was wir heute vom Wirtschaftsleben erwarten, von den Hansen schon vorgelebt wurde“, unterstreicht Engholm. Er fasst die Aufgabe des neuen Museums so zusammen: „Die Kaufleute bildeten so etwas wie eine europäische Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft. Ich denke, sie waren sehr weit, gemessen an heute. Eigentlich sind sie der Nukleus eines Europa, wie wir es heute erhoffen. Positive Beiträge zu dieser fantastischen Idee Europa zu leisten, wird ein wichtiger Aspekt des Europäischen Hansemuseums sein.“ Angela Merkel will an die zentrale Erfahrung der Hanse anknüpfen, dass „wir gemeinsam stärker sind und mehr für alle erreichen, als wenn jeder für sich selbst agieren würde. Daher gibt es auch heute das Bemühen um Einigkeit in der Europäischen Union – immer wieder und in allen aktuellen Fragen.“

Teilen: TwitterLinkedIn

Weitere Beiträge
Ein Unternehmen an die nachfolgende Generation zu übergeben, ist nicht immer einfach. Wann ist der richtige Zeitpunkt? Welche Qualifikation sollte der oder die Nachfolger haben?...
In den letzten zehn Jahren hat der Unternehmer Stefan Moritz nicht einen schriftlichen Vertrag geschrieben; Absprachen werden per Handschlag getroffen. Für ihn und seine Kunden ...
Während so mancher Industriebetrieb mittlerweile lieber günstige Materialien verwendet und Massenprodukte herstellt, geht ein junges Unternehmen aus Ostwestfalen genau den entge...