De

“Our brand’s core is intensity”

November 2014Text: Isabel Melahn and Bodo ScheffelsPhoto: Borussia Dortmund

Thomas Treß, CFO of Borussia Dortmund, on the use of referees in the economy, about values in football, internationalisation and Financial Fair Play.

Thomas Treß, as Deputy General Manager, has been responsible for Finance and Organisation at Borussia Dortmund since 2006.in an interview with Tiding.
Tiding: Fair play is very important in sports and especially in football. Should such values also be respected more when it comes to the economy?
Thomas Treß: Fair play is a principle of Western culture: People should deal with each other reasonably and not overtax each other. This applies both in sports and in business. If you put too much of a burden on other people and only consider your own benefit, contracts generally don’t end up coming about or are not put into action.

A football match is controlled by a referee. Wouldn’t a referee also be desirable in economic life?
The referee in football is a part of the event. In our free, pluralistic, social market economy, we don’t need that. Basically, it’s all about the parties dealing with each other sensibly. In business, there are the courts, but they are only consulted if there really is no other way of resolving the problem. But that’s not the goal.

Hanse is very international. How much of a factor is internationalisation in the success of BVB?
Internationalisation is extremely important in football. Th is especially true for clubs like Borussia Dortmund, who are at the top of the Bundesliga and of course participate in international competitions. In football you cannot make money if you only take part in domestic competitions, so playing internationally is vitally important in order to be successful. On the other hand, for BVB it is also important to play not only in Germany, because the brand and the fan base of Borussia Dortmund know no boundaries. We have fans abroad, we have many foreign sponsorship partners, and we realise that Borussia Dortmund is becoming increasingly well known in other countries. We will therefore be opening an office in Singapore to handle the Asian market better. Our sponsors include names such as Huawei or Turkish Airlines, we also have Polish sponsors. And our football team is international. Football is a multicultural event, where all possible faiths and nationalities come together.

How does one deal with the international market?
Internationalisation is multi-layered: we must continue to develop the brand strategy and make clear the values of the brand itself and then communicate this in a way that is adapted to other countries and cultural areas. Only then will we achieve sustainable international success when it comes to marketing. To stay with the example of Singapore: We will have one of our staff members there work on establishing contacts to gain Asian sponsors and to increase the visibility of BVB in the Asian media.

You are considering what values you want the brand to project to the outside. What are those values compared with the other major brand in German football: Bayern Munich?
At the core of the Borussia Dortmund brand is the central component of intensity and around that many values such as being down to earth and honest, which are also naturally reflected here with the region. The things that make Borussia Dortmund special are its openness and ability to bring people together. Borussia Dortmund is a brand, a fan base that drives people rather than defining them. Borussia Dortmund does not focus on being opportunistic or polarising. Th is certainly the biggest difference to Bayern Munich.

You say that the essence of the Borussia Dortmund brand is intensity. What exactly do you mean by that?
Intensity is many things. It starts with the colours of Borussia Dortmund. They are black and yellow; you can’t really get a bigger contrast. Then we have an intense football experience at the stadium with 80,000 people, of which 27,000 are standing and 25,000 are in the south stands alone. All of this makes for a very intense experience in the football stadium.

Dortmund is an old Hanseatic city. Is that noticeable?
We have a different fan base than you might otherwise find in the Ruhrarea. Dortmund is less of a working-class city; there are more medium-sized businesses, there is more trade. Borussia Dortmund is not a workers’ team in the traditional sense, Gelsenkirchen and Schalke 04 lay more of a claim to that. The people around us are a bit different.

Tags: ,
Share: TwitterLinkedIn

More posts
Handing a company over to the next generation is not always easy. When is the right time? What qualifications should the successor(s) have? What role does the senior play? Many ...
In the last ten years the entrepreneur Stefan Moritz has not written a written contract as agreements are made by handshake. Trust counts for him and his customers - this is lon...
While many industrial companies now prefer to use inexpensive materials and produce mass products, a young company from East Westphalia is doing exactly the opposite. Allstein, ...

En

„Unser Markenkern heißt Intensität“

November 2014Text: Isabel Melahn und Bodo ScheffelsFoto: Borussia Dortmund

Thomas Treß, CFO von Borussia Dortmund, über den Einsatz von Schiedsrichtern in der Wirtschaft, über Werte im Fußball, Internationalität und Financial. Fair Play.

Thomas Treß, seit 2006 als zweiter Geschäftsführer von Borussia Dortmund verantwortlich für Finanzen und Organisation, im Interview.

Tiding: Fair Play ist im Sport und besonders beim Fußball sehr wichtig. Sollten solche Werte verstärkt auch in der Wirtschaft beachtet werden?
Tomas Treß: Fair Play ist ein Grundsatz der westlichen Kultur: Man soll vernünftig miteinander umgehen und den anderen nicht überfordern. Das gilt im Sport wie in der Wirtschaft. Wenn man den anderen überfordert und nur den eigenen Vorteil im Blick hat, kommen Verträge in der Regel gar nicht zum Tragen oder werden nicht gelebt.

Ein Fußballspiel wird von einem Schiedsrichter geleitet. Wäre so ein Schiedsrichter nicht in der Wirtschaft auch wünschenswert?
Der Schiedsrichter beim Fußball ist ein Element der Veranstaltung. In unserer freien, pluralistischen, sozialen Marktwirtschaft brauchen wir das nicht. Im Grunde geht es ja darum, dass die Vertragsparteien vernünftig miteinander umgehen. In der Wirtschaft sind es die Gerichte, die aber erst dann hinzugezogen werden, wenn es gar nicht mehr anders geht. Aber das ist ja nicht das Ziel.

Die Hanse ist sehr international. Welchen Erfolgsfaktor stellt die Internationalität für den BVB dar?
Internationalität ist im Fußball extrem wichtig. Das gilt insbesondere für Klubs wie Borussia Dortmund, die sich in der Spitzengruppe der Bundesliga befinden und natürlich auch an internationalen Wettbewerben teilnehmen. Im Fußball kann man kein Geld verdienen, wenn man nur an nationalen Wettbewerben teilnimmt, insoweit ist es eminent wichtig für den Erfolg, international zu spielen. Zum anderen ist es für den BVB auch wichtig, nicht nur innerhalb Deutschlands zu spielen, weil die Marke und die Fanbasis von Borussia Dortmund keine Grenzen kennen. Wir haben Fans im Ausland, wir haben sehr viele ausländische Sponsoringpartner und wir merken, dass Borussia Dortmund im Ausland eine immer stärkere Akzeptanz bekommt. Deshalb werden wir in Singapur ein Büro eröffnen, um den asiatischen Markt stärker zu bearbeiten. Bei unseren Sponsoren fallen Namen wie Huawei oder Turkish Airlines, wir haben polnische Sponsoringpartner. Und auch unser Fußballteam ist international. Fußball ist eine multikulturelle Veranstaltung, da kommen alle möglichen Glaubensrichtungen und Nationalitäten zusammen.

Wie bearbeitet man den internationalen Markt?
Internationalisierung ist mehrschichtig: Wir müssen die Markenstrategie weiterentwickeln und deutlich machen, welche Werte die Marke in sich trägt, und diese dann angepasst auf andere Länder und Kulturräume kommunizieren. Nur dann werden wir nachhaltig international erfolgreich sein, was die Vermarktung betrifft. Um beim Beispiel Singapur zu bleiben: Hier wird einer unserer Angestellten sitzen und Kontakte schließen, um asiatische Sponsoren zu gewinnen und um die Bekanntheit des BVB in asiatischen Medien zu erhöhen.

Sie überlegen, mit welchen Werten Sie die Marke nach außen aufladen wollen. Welche Werte sind das im Unterschied zur anderen großen Marke im deutschen Fußball: Bayern München?
Borussia Dortmund hat als Markenkern das Thema Intensität als zentrale Komponente, drum herum aber viele Werte wie Bodenständigkeit und Ehrlichkeit, die natürlich auch mit der Region hier verhaftet sind. Dinge, die Borussia Dortmund speziell machen, sind die Offenheit und die Vereinnahmung der Menschen. Borussia Dortmund ist eine Marke, eine Fangemeinde, die die Menschen mitnimmt und nicht so sehr abgrenzt. Borussia Dortmund ist nicht so opportunistisch ausgerichtet, nicht so polarisierend. Das ist sicher der größte Unterschied zu den Bayern.

Sie sagen, der Markenkern von Borussia Dortmund ist Intensität. Was genau versteht man darunter?
Intensität ist vieles. Das fängt bei den Farben von Borussia Dortmund an. Sie sind schwarz-gelb, einen größeren Kontrast gibt es kaum. Dann haben wir ein intensives Fußballerlebnis im Stadion mit 80.000 Menschen, davon 27.000 auf Stehplätzen und allein 25.000 auf der Südtribüne. Sie alle machen ein sehr intensives Erlebnis im Fußballstadion erst möglich.

Dortmund ist ja eine alte Hansestadt. Merkt man das? Wir haben eine andere Fangemeinde, als Sie das sonst im Ruhrgebiet finden. Dortmund ist weniger eine Arbeiterstadt, es gibt mehr mittelständische Kaufleute, mehr Handel. Borussia Dortmund ist auch kein Arbeiterverein im klassischen Sinne, das kann eher Gelsenkirchen mit Schalke 04 für sich in Anspruch nehmen. Die Menschen bei uns sind schon ein bisschen anders gestrickt.

Schlagworte: ,
Teilen: TwitterLinkedIn

Weitere Beiträge
Ein Unternehmen an die nachfolgende Generation zu übergeben, ist nicht immer einfach. Wann ist der richtige Zeitpunkt? Welche Qualifikation sollte der oder die Nachfolger haben?...
In den letzten zehn Jahren hat der Unternehmer Stefan Moritz nicht einen schriftlichen Vertrag geschrieben; Absprachen werden per Handschlag getroffen. Für ihn und seine Kunden ...
Während so mancher Industriebetrieb mittlerweile lieber günstige Materialien verwendet und Massenprodukte herstellt, geht ein junges Unternehmen aus Ostwestfalen genau den entge...